2+2 != Maths

September 9, 2011

My first problem

Filed under: problem solving — Numbat @ 11:01
Tags: , ,

Hi All,

I awoke a little “mathy” today.The first order of business most days for me is to check the blogs and twitter feeds that I follow.  It kickstarts the brain quite nicely.

I had to watch the following video twice.

The first time I watched, just as he got into the 2nd example (26 seconds into the video), my brain suddenly kicked into gear and screamed “No way!”.  As my early morning brain grappled with what I was seeing and James continued on with his explanation, it took a few minutes for me to realise the “proof” was staring me right in the face.

I immediately wondered if my students would see through these examples as quickly (or slowly as the case may be) as I did.  So there is the basis of my problem.  The first problem I have attempted to “create” I might add.  Please feel free to let me know what you think and make suggestions for improvement in the comments.

The problem:

Watch the first 45 seconds of the above video, then ask your students to either prove or disprove the method. You could make it a little harder (or perhaps easier) if you ask them to only use the 4 examples shown.

Cheers,
Chris.

Thanks go to @jamestanton for the video and @ddmeyer for the inspiration.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

